Today's Forecast: 19°C Clear  more

Books Trends

What to read after reading the Girl on the Train?

whsmith article

The Girl on the Train was one of those books that seemed to completely take over 2015. Absolutely everyone was talking about it, and it held onto the top spot of The New York Times Fiction Bestseller list for an incredible thirteen weeks! Author Paula Hawkins was catapulted into stardom, films rights were snapped up, and it seemed that every domestic noir that followed wanted to be compared to The Girl on the Train. And while we have been guilty of rolling our eyes along with everyone else when yet another book with ‘girl’ in the title received the comparison, we can’t deny that we were still compelled to read every last one of them; our taste for domestic noir had well and truly been sparked.

And so with the announcement of Paula Hawkins’ next book – Into the Water – still taking over our conversations with friends, we’ve pulled together a list of books that we think any Girl on the Train fan will enjoy. Twists and turns, dubious narrators, faulty memories and compelling mysteries; it’s all here to keep you feverishly reading into the night.

Into The Water – Paula Hawkins

What could be better to follow up GOTT than the next book by its author Paula Hawkins? Although Into the Water isn’t due out until 2 May, we’ve already pre-ordered our copies to make sure they’re top of our reading pile come May.

Nel was obsessed with the drowning pool and the many ‘troublesome women’ who met their end there. Now that she’s one of them, it’s up to her sister Jules to get to the bottom of what happened. Before Nel died, she reached out and called her sister… but Jules didn’t pick up the phone. And now Jules must go back to a place she hoped she’d never have to see again to help pick up the pieces. Is there something sinister behind these women’s deaths? And is Jules putting herself in danger by asking too many questions?

The Perfect Girl – Gilly MacMillan

Zoe Maisey is a musical prodigy and a child genius. But three years ago, Zoe was tangled up in the tragic deaths of three of her classmates. Now that she’s served her time, her mother hopes that they can all move past Zoe’s past.

But is hiding the event from her new husband and the people in their new life a mistake? Could those around her begin to follow the breadcrumbs to lead them to their troubled past? Often, the closer you are to something, the harder it is to see it clearly.

Lying in Wait – Liz Nugent

Lydia Fitzsimons has it all. A perfect house, a loving husband, a beautiful son. There’s just one thing missing. But as she begins to chase the missing piece, is it possible that it will lead to murder? Lying in Wait explores the depths of a mother’s love and shows that some parents will stop at nothing to get the best for their children.

With people-puppeteer Lydia propelling the plot, this book’s greatest triumph is its portrait of the dark side of motherhood. Peak ‘domestic noir’, this book will have you hooked from cover to epilogue.

We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

The Sinclair family spend their summers on a private island (lucky them!). And every summer Cadence is reunited with her fellow ‘Liars’ – Johnny, Gat and Mirren. As is so often the case, things are not always as perfect as they seem on the surface, and one summer tragedy strikes.

When Cadence returns from a summer away, the events of Summer Fifteen (so called because that was Cadence’s age at the time) begin to surface. When her family and friends start acting secretively, and the details of that fateful summer begin to come back in dribs and drabs, Cadence and those responsible must finally face up to what really happened – and unearth a horrifying secret.

The Couple Next Door – Shari Lapena

This razor-sharp book recounts every parent’s worst nightmare. A couple leave their baby asleep while they have dinner at the house next door. When they get home, they find their baby gone and the front door wide open. Flying at breakneck pace, this book doesn’t skip a beat when it comes to conveying the urgency of the situation.

Addressing serious themes such as postnatal depression and what it means to be a good parent, it’s a warrior in an army of female thrillers that are more than capable of holding their own.

The Missing – C. L. Taylor

When her teenage boy goes missing, Claire blames herself. But six months later an appeal for information uncovers new leads – could it be a light at the end of the tunnel? Could Billy still be alive? All families have secrets, but could the ones this family is hiding have played a part in Billy’s disappearance?

The Missing makes you feel as though you’re walking down a dark street full of twists and turns in the black of night. But what will you find when you reach the final corner?

Behind Closed Doors – B.A. Paris

This short novel has a lot to say for itself. Seemingly perfect newlyweds Jack and Grace Angel have it all. But as the cracks in their relationship begin to show, could it be that things aren’t as they seem?

They say you never really know what goes on behind closed doors, but could this saying be more sinister than you first think? Grace is essentially a prisoner in her own home. But how will she escape? Blurring the past and the present, it’s the monologues from sociopath Jack that chill us to our very core.

Visit WHSmith at The Plaza Shopping Centre and enjoy a browse through the many new book arrivals. <3

Article taken from https://blog.whsmith.co.uk.

Latest Articles: View older Articles: 2014  |  2015  |  2016  |  2017
  • whsmith article
    What to read after reading the Girl on the Train?
  • MP1649-FROZEN-anna-_-elsa
    The Frozen Posters and Olaf plush new in stock at Gajet!
  • GAJET
    The Cutest Bears, The most romantic Cards for your loved one
  • agenda
    THE PLAZA DIARIES – THE FASHION CAROUSEL X AGENDA BOOKSHOP
© 2017 Plaza Centres p.l.c. Designed & Developed by Keen Advertising
Plaza Shopping

Plaza Shopping